Everyday is like Sunday

ImageI suppose a lot of people will be getting those inevitable sunday blues around about now. I always do, even when I don’t have work the next day – strange, eh? I’m on leave next week but I still have that sinking feeling of doom. Try as I might I can’t eradicate those nagging feelings of – has that homework been done? Have I prepared enough for that presentation? If I think hard enough can I come up with a good enough excuse not to go into ‘that place’ that makes me feel like I’m dying? Ah, yes, death – it always comes back to that, eh? I must admit that I don’t wish for time to speed up as much as I used to – even at work. It’s like that well-worn opening line by the comedian who’s been kicking around for a few years – it was probably George Burns originally – ‘I’m glad to be here tonight… well, I’m glad to be anywhere really.’ So as I sit in work I tend to think – this is my life I’m wishing away – and that’s not funny!

I was reading some Epicurus the other day – like you do – and he’s not bad for a few quotes to cheer up a miserable Sunday.

‘Death does not concern us, because as long as we exist, death is not here. And when it does come, we no longer exist.’

Cheers mate! No, seriously, it does make sense and equates to the old saying –

‘You die if you worry, and you die if you don’t. So why worry?’

What a perfect existential thought! So with that, I think I’ll go and cheer myself up by listening to some Morrissey or Knicker Boy’s ‘Yellow Sunday’. See, you’re not on your own!Image

This entry was posted in Words of Encouragement - exist and be happy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

